Possessing cannabis for personal use is legal in eight states and in the District of Columbia. These states include, California, Massachusetts, Maine, Nevada, Washington, Oregon, Colorado and Alaska.
The other states consider it a controlled substance, imposing penalties and fines for possessing and distributing cannabis. Five states with the harshest cannabis possession laws are Alabama, Kansas, Iowa, Georgia and Oklahoma. These states remain adamant in prosecuting offenders.
The Alabama Legislature Code
has some of the harshest penalties for the possessing, selling, cultivating and trafficking cannabis.
Personal use of cannabis in Alabama is a misdemeanor and results in imprisonment for one year and a $6,000 fine.
According to Find Law, a felony is the most serious type of crime, having at least a year prison sentence. Trafficking cannabis in Alabama is a felony receiving one to 10 years imprisonment and a $15,000 fine.
If convicted of selling cannabis, punishment varies for the amount sold, whether it was in a drug-free zone or if the sale involved a minor. Penalties range from two years to life in prison.
Growing cannabis is a also a felony in Alabama and convicted offenders receive 10 years to life in prison.
… Read the rest